Adam D. Cockey Award


The Adam D. Cockey, Jr. Community Leadership Award, named after former MRIS Chairman of the Board Adam D. Cockey, Jr., was launched in honor of Adam’s commitment to the real estate industry and for his outstanding philanthropic efforts. Before his passing in 2012, Adam dedicated over 40 years to the real estate industry and served as a positive role model for real estate professionals throughout MRIS’s community and beyond. This award recognizes real estate professionals who have demonstrated unsurpassed advocacy towards community service.

The recipient of this award will receive a $3,000 donation/honorarium made in the award recipient's name to any charity of their choice.  Additionally, $2,000 will be given directly to the recipient.  The winner will be announced September 29, 2016

Award Criteria

  • Leadership: Ability to motivate and inspire others to accomplish a specific goal or objective. This involves an element of risk in order to benefit others.
  • Humanitarian: Demonstrates generosity, concern, and helpfulness toward those in need in their community and improves their well-being or situation.
  • Courage: The strength to act in accordance with your own values and the greater good despite pressures pushing you in other directions. The ability to put the cause before the desire to be popular.
  • Enthusiasm: A lively interest in the people, issues and events around you, a feeling of excitement about the possibilities, and the energy to guide them towards fruition.
  • Dedication: Demonstrates dedication to achieving the desired results. Accomplishes much within the community by his or her pursuit, courage, enthusiasm, and zeal.

Read about the previous Adam D. Cockey, Jr. Community Leader Award Recipients:

2012 - Tara Winfree

2013 - Alfred B. “Tim” Kagan, Jr.

2014 - Christine Thomas


MRIS customers and staff members are eligible to receive this award. 

Nomination Procedures 

Nominations for the 2015-2016 award are now closed. The Recommendations and Recognition Subcommittee (consisting of the MRIS Cares Program Director, the MRIS Board of Director’s Charitable Contributions Committee members, and the MRIS CEO) will evaluate the nomination information received and will request additional information if needed, before selecting one annual recipient of the award.  All decisions regarding this award are reserved to the sole discretion of MRIS management.